Alaska is bordered by two oceans (Pacific and Arctic) and three seas (Bering, Chukchi and Beaufort) that provide a total of 47,300 miles of shoreline which exceeds the total miles of shoreline for the lower 48 states of the union. The wonders of Alaska include 19 mountains over 14,000 feet, 3,000 rivers, 1,800 islands, 3,000,000 lakes, nearly 100,000 glaciers which cover 29,000 square miles, 15 national parks, preserves and monuments, plus 117 State Parks and 322 million acres of public lands.

Alaska became the 49th state of the Union in January 3, 1959 and ranks number 2 among U.S. destinations. The State motto is "North to the Future" and its state mineral is gold. The state gem is jade, and the state flower and state fish are Forget-Me-Not and the Alaska King Salmon, respectively. The Willow Ptarmigan (a small goose) is the state bird, but some joke that it really should be the common mosquito which you will also see plenty of here.


Alaska is so immense in size and it is easier to think of it as five distinct regions as follows:

During our 5-day land tour and 7-day cruise, we only visited some parts of the INTERIOR and SOUTHCENTRAL Regions. And during our cruise we made it to the INSIDE PASSAGE where we had 3 ports of call: Skagway, Juneau (the capital of Alaska), and Ketchickan.